Welcome to
Beaconhouse National University

412 Receive Degrees at BNU’s 11th Convocation

The eleventh convocation of Beaconhouse National University (BNU) was held on December 20, 2016 in which a total of 412 graduates were awarded degrees.

BNU Board of Governors (BOG) Chairperson Ms Nasreen Mahmud Kasuri chaired the convocation along with Vice Chancellor Shahid Hafiz Kardar, Khurshid Mahmud Kasuri, Kasim Mahmud Kasuri and other members of the board.

Deans of BNU Schools including Prof Dr Gulzar Haider, Prof Dr Tariq Rahman, Prof Rashid Rana, Prof Dr Khaver Zia, Prof Dr Ruhi Khalid and Prof Dr Taimur-ul-Hassan, dignitaries, faculty and parents of the graduating students attended the convocation.

As many as 129 students received graduate degrees while the remaining 283 received undergraduate degrees. These include 81 from Mariam Dawood School of Visual Arts & Design (SVAD), 51 from Razia Hassan School of Architecture (SA), 40 from Seeta Majeed School of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences (SLASS), 93 from School of Media & Mass Communication (SMC), 70 from School of Computer and IT (SCIT), 40 from the Institute of Psychology (IP) and 37 from School of Education (SE).

This year a total of 20 gold medals were awarded to graduates with outstanding academic achievements and of these 14 were girls. The Nasim Hijazi Gold Medal was awarded to Muhammad Hamza Naseer of MS Public Relations & Advertising while the Arfa Karim Gold Medal was awarded to Syed Haider Mehdi Zaidi of BSc (Hons) Software Engineering.

The valedictorian speaker this year was Ms Naureen Zaman, graduating student from the School of Education with a Cumulative Grade Point Average of 4.0 in the M.Phil program in Teaching of English as a Second Language (TESL).

The Beaconhouse Group
Arrow-Top Created with Sketch.