Welcome to
Beaconhouse National University

SMC awarded its first PhD in Mass Communication

School of Media and Mass Communication (SMC) produces its first PhD in Mass Communication. After a successful open defense, the PhD scholar, Mr. Wajid Zulqarnain, was awarded the first ever PhD in Mass Communication from Beaconhouse National University for his dissertation titled “Individual’s perceptions about the credibility of Social and Traditional media and their impact on media preference in Pakistan”.

The PhD thesis, supervised by Dean SMC, Prof. Dr. Taimur-ul-Hassan, was externally evaluated by Dr. Jyotika Ramaprasad, Professor, Journalism & Media Management, School of Communication, University of Miami, Dr. Emily Metzgar, Associate Professor, University of Indiana, and Dr. Xu Minghua, School of Journalism & Information Communication, Huazhog University of Science & Technology, China. The internal evaluators included Dr. Anjum Zia, Chairperson Mass Communication Department at Lahore College for Women University, Dr. Bushra Hameedur Rahman, Assistant Professor, Institute of Communication Studies, University of the Punjab and Prof. Dr. Shafiq Jalandhari, In-charge PhD Program, University of Central Punjab.

Open Defense was attended by Prof. Dr. Taimur-ul-Hassan, Dean, SMC; Mr. Rana Faizan Ali, Assistant Professor & Head of Department of Journalism and Mass Communication; Dr. Ghulam Shabbir, Professor, SMC; Dr. Wajiha Raza Rizvi, Associate Professor, SMC; Dr. Qamar Ghaznavi, Assistant Professor, SMC; Mr. Zeeshan Zaighum, Lecturer, SMC; Ms. Noreen Lodhi, General Manager Quality Assurance, BNU; Mr. Nadeem Asghar Baig, Officiating Registrar, BNU, along with faculty members and students of BNU.

Dean SMC, Prof Dr. Tamiurul Hassan congratulated the candidate and the faculty on this achievement and promised to continue the efforts in providing quality higher education in Media Studies at SMC Beaconhouse National University. Currently there are eight more scholars enrolled in the PhD program at SMC, BNU.

The Beaconhouse Group
Arrow-Top Created with Sketch.